SANTA CLARA — Nick Bosa, who won his first NFL sack title this season, also won the 49ers’ most prestigious honor: the Len Eshmont Award, for inspirational and courageous play.

Bosa also won the Matt Hazeltine “Iron Man” Award for being the most courageous and inspirational defensive player this season, which ended with Sunday’s NFC Championship Game loss at Philadelphia.

Fred Warner won the Bill Walsh Award, as voted on by coaches for professionalism. Bosa won last year’s honor, following past recipients since 2017 in Kyle Juszczyk, Kittle, Buckner and Warner.

The Bobb McKittrick Award, in recognition of an offensive lineman’s service, went to center Jake Brendel, after Laken Tomlinson won it three of the previous four seasons.

Quarterback Brock Purdy received the Thomas Herrion Award, in recognition of a rookie or first-year player who made the most of their opportunity. Purdy won eight games in relief of an injured Jimmy Garoppolo, then came Sunday’s NFC title game, in which Purdy sustained a torn ulnar collateral ligament in his throwing elbow that will force him to have surgery and keep him out at least six months.

Juszczyk won the Garry Niver Award, as presented by the San Francisco chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America for professionalism and cooperation with the media.


Source link


Comments are closed.