Debora Cherono and Alvin Kipkorir were the winners of Athletics Kenya Uasin Gishu County cross country championships held on Wednesday at the Lobo Village, Kapseret.

Cherono won the 10km senior women’s title in a low turnout championship with only two women competing for the crown.

The tiny runner who wants to focus on next year’s world championships in Budapest, Hungary defeated her only competitor Emily Jerop when they clocked 40:21.40 and 47:03.1.

All coming from Complete Sports based in Kaptagat, the two earned slots to compete at the Central Rift cross country championships set for next week at the same venue ahead of national cross country championships that will be staged in Ruiru.

“It was a tough race now that it was rainy and cold weather. With this, I have managed to win the title and I want to get a chance to compete at the national level,” said Cherono.

The same was echoed by Jerop who accompanied Cherono for the regional championships.

In the 10km senior men category, a total of 6 athletes faced off with Kipkorir, also from Complete Sports emerging victorious in 31:50 ahead of Julius Kipkoech (32:56) and Kelvin Kumutai coming third timing 33:06.

In the 8km junior men, Raphael Kelian won the title in 24:50.11 beating Kenneth Kiprop (25:24.11) and Elias Kiptoo in 27:2065.

In a four race contest, Sarah Jepkoech won the women’s 6km title in 23:67.32 ahead of Dorcas Chesiro and Linah Chebet for third.

Selected results

10km senior men

  1. Alvin Kipkorir- 31:50
  2. Julius Kipkoech-32:56
  3. Kelvin Kimutai- 33:06
  4. Elly Maiyo- 33:11
  5. Elkana Kipruto-33:16
  6. Dennis Kiplagat- 34:16

10km women

  1. Debora Cherono-40:21.40
  2. Emily Cherop- 47:01.1

8km junior men

  1. Raphael Kelian- 24:50.11
  2. Kenneth Kiproono- 25:24.28
  3. Elias Kiptoo-27:20.65
  4. Shadrack Kibiwott- 27:59.15
  5. Cornelius Kogo- 28:21.50
  6. Isaac Ndiwa-28:27.47

6km junior women

  1. Sarah Jepkoehc- 23:37.62
  2. Dorcas Chesire- 23:38.48
  3. Linah Chebet23:50.87
  4. Faith Jeptanui-24:14.53

8km junior men

  1. Raphael Kelian- 24:50.11
  2. Kenneth Kiprono-25:24.28
  3. Elias Kiptoo-27:20.65
  4. Shadrack Kibiwott-27:15.15
  5. Cornelius Kogo-28:21.50
  6. Isaac ndiwa- 28:27.47

Total Views: 89 ,


Source link


Comments are closed.